Market Manipulation. Search

SEC v. Michael Blumer, John Kuprianchik, David Page, Steven Thompson, Joseph Todaro (churning, 2023)

Status unknown

Machine-extracted, pending human review. The structured fields on this page were parsed automatically from the regulator's own release, linked below. Read the primary document before relying on any figure here, and tell us if something is wrong.

In 2023, the Securities and Exchange Commission brought an action against Michael Blumer, John Kuprianchik, David Page, Steven Thompson, Joseph Todaro, alleging conduct this library classifies as churning. The release does not state a monetary figure that we were able to extract.

The record

Structured fields for this action, as recorded in our case library.
Agency SEC
Release number LR-25863
Date filed 2023-09-28
Court U.S. District Court, Eastern District of New York
Status unknown
Criminal parallel No
Defendants Michael Blumer, John Kuprianchik, David Page, Steven Thompson, Joseph Todaro (individual)
Techniques Churning

What was ordered

Civil penalty
Disgorgement
Prejudgment interest
Total relief
Alleged gain

A dash means the release did not state a figure we could extract, not that the figure is zero. Penalty and disgorgement are stored separately so aggregates across the library do not double-count the same dollars.

What is alleged to have happened

the Securities and Exchange Commission announced this matter on September 28, 2023 as release LR-25863. The respondents named are Michael Blumer, John Kuprianchik, David Page, Steven Thompson, Joseph Todaro (1 individual, 0 entities). The action was brought in the U.S. District Court, Eastern District of New York.

This library tags the matter as churning, based on the conduct the regulator describes. Each tag links to a page explaining how that technique works, what statute it engages, and what penalties comparable actions have attracted. The tagging is ours, not the regulator's: agencies charge statutory provisions, not technique names.

For the regulator's own account of the facts, read the primary document linked above. This page deliberately summarises the structured record rather than reproducing the release.

What technique is this, and how does it work?

This action is tagged with one technique in our taxonomy. The tagging is ours: regulators charge statutory provisions, not technique names, so the mapping is an editorial judgement described in our editorial policy.

Timeline

  1. 2023-09-28 Litigation release published

Primary documents

Everything on this page derives from the documents below. Where our summary and the primary document disagree, the primary document is right.

The linked release is a work of the United States government and is not subject to copyright. Our summary and narrative above are our own writing.

Other actions in the library sharing at least one technique tag with this one.

Action Agency Filed Technique Penalty Status
SEC v. Baris Cabalar (churning, 2024) SEC 2024-10-16 Churning unknown
SEC v. Laidlaw and Company (UK) Ltd. (churning, 2023) SEC 2023-11-20 Churning $223k settled
SEC v. Carla Lea Chastain (churning, 2023) SEC 2023-08-18 Churning settled
SEC v. Waddell & Reed, LLC (churning, 2022) SEC 2022-09-19 Churning settled
SEC v. NPA Asset Management, LLC (churning, 2022) SEC 2022-09-08 Churning settled
SEC v. American Portfolios Financial Services, Inc. and American Portfolios Advisors, Inc. (churning, 2020) SEC 2020-11-13 Churning settled

Record added September 8, 2026. submit a correction.